Our Board

Our Board

The Afford Board have a wide scope of unmatched professional expertise and influence across Greater Western Sydney. They boast a collective service of 106 years’ service to the Board across 8 members – that’s longer than we’ve been providing support for!

Neville Barnier (Chairman)
Mr Barnier was appointed on 19 December 1983. He spent 28 years in the Financial Planning, Insurance and Superannuation industry before retirement in 2012. Until recently, Mr Barnier was a director of Penrith RSL Club Ltd for 12 years, the last 7 as Chairman of the Club. He is currently Chairman of the Homes for Heroes Western Sydney Fund Raising Committee responsible for funding the accommodation of homeless war veterans at Governor Phillip Manor in Penrith. Mr Barnier holds a Diploma of Financial Planning from Deakin University and is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He was elected President of the Australian Foundation for Disability on 19 November 2014.

Ross Fowler (Deputy Chairman)
OAM, B Comm, FCA
Ross is the former Mayor of Penrith City Council and a current Councillor. Ross is the principal of a Penrith-based firm of Chartered Accountants. Other directorship experience includes Western Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils Ltd, Penrith Whitewater Stadium, Penrith Performing and Visual Arts and Ripples at St Marys. Ross was elected as Deputy Chairman of Australian Foundation for Disability on 18 November 2015.

Michael Allen
Michael is the former longstanding Chief Executive of Housing NSW, the largest social housing provider in the Southern Hemisphere. Michael has over 35 years’ experience in social housing and asset services and has led a number of reforms include the development of the National Regulatory System for Community Housing.

Eva Ballai
MBA Adv., RN, BN, JP
MS Ballali has over 25 years’ experience in health care, spanning unique breadth of frontline, senior management and board level positions. A Lieutenant Specialist Nursing Officer with the Australian Defence Force and former Treasurer of Special Olympics Australia, Ms Ballai has an extensive operation and strategic understanding of health care settings, particularly Aged Care.

Mario Bellantonio
OAM, LLB (Syd)
Mario is a longstanding and highly respected consultant in legal practice and provides advice on contentious issues of law.

Cliff Haynes
Cliff was formerly Assistant Director General Corporate and Shared Services, FACS and Executive Director of Business Management and Governance at Housing NSW. Cliff was former President of the NSW Division of Local Government Managers Australia, and served the Board for 10 years.

Ange Humpries
Ange is a well respected expert in communications and media, who leads support across a wide variety of settings.

Alan Travers
Alan has 42 years’ experience in local government and is the retired General Manager of Penrith City Council and provides consulting advice.